UMD     This Site

Two authors associated with Professor Prakash Narayan (ECE/ISR) have written a forthcoming book on information-theoretic cryptography. Shun Watanabe is an associate professor in the Department of Computer and Information Sciences, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology; and Himanshu Tyagi (ECE PhD 2013) is an associate professor in the Department of Electrical Communication Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bangalore. Tyagi was advised by Narayan as a PhD student.

Watanabe was a visiting assistant professor working with Prakash Narayan on network information theory in the mid-2010s. Together, they conducted research on the NSF-funded project, “Secure and Private Function Computation by Interactive Communication.”

Information-Theoretic Cryptography will be published by Cambridge University Press in June 2023.

The graduate-level introductory book offers a mathematical foundation for modern cryptography. Fundamental topics of cryptography are covered, starting from Shannon's classic result on secret key cryptography. The book is arranged in two parts:

Part 1 focuses on protections against external adversaries, including encryption, authentication and secret keys. This section covers basic information theory; secret keys and encryption; universal hash families; hypothesis testing; information reconciliation,; random number generation; authentication, computationally secure encryption and authentication; and secret key agreement.

Part 2 explores protections against internal adversaries and through secure computation strategies. Topics include secret sharing; two-party secure computation for passive adversaries; oblivious transfer from correlated randomness; bit commitment from correlated randomness; active adversaries and composable security; zero-knowledge proof; two-party secure computation for active adversaries; broadcast, Byzantine agreements and digital signatures; and multiparty secure computation.

Related Articles:
Dana Dachman-Soled is Program Chair for ITC 2022
Alum Himanshu Tyagi promoted to Associate Professor at Indian Institute of Science
Alum Himanshu Tyagi wins 2020 INSA Medal for Young Scientists
Information theoretic approach to the private set intersection problem
Alum Ahmed Arafa wins NSF CAREER Award
Alum Ravi Tandon appointed to named chair at University of Arizona.
$1M NSF award supports reimagining cryptography in a post-quantum world
Alum Domenic Forte featured on EE Times podcast
Ulukus, Modiano guest-edit IEEE journal special issue on Age of Information
Alum Domenic Forte wins Yatauro Fellowship at University of Florida

March 14, 2023

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

New graduate program in Embedded Systems

New ‘FRRB’ packaging technology may solve an ingestible capsule challenge

Narayan receives NSF funding for shared information work

Congratulations May 2023 ISR graduates!

New book by Jeffrey Herrmann: Metareasoning for Robots

“Gambit” Pays Off in UMD Team’s Search-and-Rescue Competition Win

UMD?s Tubaldi Wins NSF CAREER Award

RoboNation ‘SeaPerch’ Robotics Competition and UMD Robotics Open House

Two ECE Graduate Students Win 2023 UMD Three Minute Thesis Competition

Addressing liver transplant geographic inequities

Back to top  
Home Clark School Home UMD Home