UMD     This Site

(L-R) Abhishek Chakraborty and Joshua Pranjeevan Kulasingham.

(L-R) Abhishek Chakraborty and Joshua Pranjeevan Kulasingham.


The fellowships are awarded to outstanding students in the final stages of dissertation work in recognition of their research excellence. Each fellowship recipient will receive $3,000. The following authors’ dissertations were selected by a search committee: Professor Eyad Abed, Professor Shuvra Bhattacharyya, Professor Cheng Gong, Professor Agis Iliadis and Professor Shihab Shamma.

Abhishek Chakraborty

Dissertation: “Design Techniques for Enhancing Hardware-Oriented Security Using Obfuscation”

Advisor: Professor Ankur Srivastava

During his Ph.D. studies at the University of Maryland College Park, Abhishek has investigated and contributed to multiple aspects of hardware security research, including hardware obfuscation, side-channel analysis, security of emerging technologies, hardware-assisted IP protection of neural network models, and more. His PhD dissertation focuses on developing effective hardware-oriented obfuscation approaches to enhance security and trust at different levels of design abstractions. His research work has been published in several reputed journals and conferences including IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems (TCAD), Design Automation Conference (DAC), International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD), International Symposium on Hardware Oriented Security and Trust (HOST), International Conference on Computer Design (ICCD), etc.

Joshua Pranjeevan Kulasingham

Dissertation: “Time-Locked Cortical Processing of Speech in Complex Environments"

Advisor: Professor Jonathan Simon

Speech signals have rich spectro-temporal properties and require rapid processing mechanisms in order to result in comprehension. Yet, our brains are capable of performing this task with ease, even in complex environments. Kulasingham's work explores the cortical mechanisms involved in speech processing using magnetoencephalography (MEG), which non-invasively measures the magnetic fields that arise from neural activity. Spatio-temporal models of time-locked cortical responses are estimated from noisy neural signals. Investigating these neural mechanisms could lead to a better understanding of human cognition, language comprehension, and hearing and speech impairments.

Related Articles:
Alumni Profile: Yijie Han
Professor Espy-Wilson Named IEEE Fellow
Min Wu Elected President of IEEE Signal Processing Society
Three ECE Professors Ranked Top Scientists in the World by Guide2Research
Carol Espy-Wilson Receives Campus Woman of Influence Award
UMD GAMMA Group Awarded Best Paper and an Honorable Mention at IEEE VR 2021
Proloy Das Receives Honorable Mention in Charles Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Competition
Professor Pamela Abshire Named 2020-2021 ADVANCE Professor
Behtash Babadi and Dana Dachman-Soled Promoted to the rank of Associate Professor with Tenure
Carol Espy-Wilson Receives Faculty-Student Research Award

May 12, 2021

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

ECE/ISR Ph.D. Students Win Hardware Demo Competitions in HOST Symposium  

Two Papers on  Gut-Microbiome-Brain-Axis (GMBA) Published

University of Maryland Has Strong Presence at ICRA 2024

Khaligh Honored With Linda Clement Outstanding Advisor Award

UMD Launches Institute Focused on Ethical AI Development

Remembering Rance Cleaveland (1961-2024)

Dinesh Manocha Inducted into IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Academy

ECE Ph.D. Student Ayooluwa (“Ayo”) Ajiboye Recognized at APEC 2024

Balachandran, Cameron, Yu Receive 2024 MURI Award

UMD, Booz Allen Hamilton Announce Collaboration with MMEC

Back to top  
Home Clark School Home UMD Home