UMD     This Site

Proloy Das, (ECE Ph.D., 2020) was nominated this year by the A. James Clark School of Engineering for this year’s Charles A. Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award. His dissertation titled, “Bayesian Modeling and Estimation Techniques for the Analysis of Neuroimaging Data,” has received Honorable Mention in the competition.

The Caramello Distinguished Dissertation Award recognizes original work that makes an unusually significant contribution to the discipline. A multi-disciplinary campus committee, chaired by Professor Patricia Alexander from the Department of Human Development and Quantitative Methodology, selected his dissertation to receive Honorable Mention in the disciplinary area of Mathematics, Physical Sciences, and Engineering. 

At Maryland, Das was advised by Prof. Behtash Babadi. His dissertation was also recognized by ECE Distinguished Dissertation Award and Dean's Doctoral Student Research Award (second place) in 2020. Prior to joining UMD, he received his Bachelors in Technology (B. Tech.) degree in Instrumentation Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur (IITKGP), India in 2015.

He is currently with the Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital as a research fellow. His broad research area is computational modeling and analysis of neural signals using statistical signal processing, adaptive filtering and machine learning tools. A primary focus of his research is to mitigate the challenges that the current data analysis techniques face while deciphering the underlying brain dynamics from the neural data.

Das will be recognized during the Graduate School Virtual Fellowship and Award Celebration in May.

Related Articles:
Alumni Profile: Yijie Han
Alumnus James Xiaojiang Du named IEEE Fellow
Alumnus David Bader Named Association for Computing Machinery Fellow
Professor Espy-Wilson Named IEEE Fellow
ECE Names 2021 Distinguished Alumni
Min Wu Elected President of IEEE Signal Processing Society
Alumnus Chaitali Chakrabarti Wins ASU’s Joseph C. Palais Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award
Alumnus David Bader Receives 2021 Sidney Fernbach Award
In Memoriam: John William Fritz (‘17, electrical engineering)
ECE Alumnus Xiaojiang (James) Du Named Anson Wood Burchard Endowed-Chair Professor at Stevens Institute of Technology

April 15, 2021

«Previous Story  



Current Headlines

ECE/ISR Ph.D. Students Win Hardware Demo Competitions in HOST Symposium  

Two Papers on  Gut-Microbiome-Brain-Axis (GMBA) Published

University of Maryland Has Strong Presence at ICRA 2024

Khaligh Honored With Linda Clement Outstanding Advisor Award

UMD Launches Institute Focused on Ethical AI Development

Remembering Rance Cleaveland (1961-2024)

Dinesh Manocha Inducted into IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Academy

ECE Ph.D. Student Ayooluwa (“Ayo”) Ajiboye Recognized at APEC 2024

Balachandran, Cameron, Yu Receive 2024 MURI Award

UMD, Booz Allen Hamilton Announce Collaboration with MMEC

Back to top  
Home Clark School Home UMD Home